LFBW
2021 / MEDIA ART

The data encrypted in the migration patterns of beluga whales indicate the dependence of biological species on a variety of external factors, including natural disasters, human actions and technologies. Training of technological agents can help preserve this data and present it as an aesthetic experience. The LSTM recurrent neural network is trained on data of the movement of beluga whales in coastal waters of Alaska from 1979 to 2010 and generates coordinates of alternative migration routes for beluga whales, which becoming the basis for animation. Data on the depth and temperature of the water at the current point are reflected in the sound of the work through parametric sonification of the synthesized sound and audio recordings of beluga whale communication using another neural network - a multilayer perceptron.

ACADEMIC ADVISOR:

Sergey Kostyrko

CONSULTANT:

Maria Kuptsova

The audio-visual installation is a thesis project within the framework of the master's thesis for the program
Digital Art —Da. at FEFU, 2021.

The project seeks to convey ideas about the fragility and vulnerability of nature, as well as about human responsibility for the changes taking place in the world. The interpretation of biological data through aesthetic images communicates this inside the human system of reflection, through an intuitive artistic language, transforming the intangible patterns of biological agents into visual and auditory ways of experiencing this information.

Technological agents, learning from biological agents, cease to be seen as a lifeless objects and are endowed with the characteristics of biological agents and organicity. Technologies that have historically been opposed to living nature starting to act as equal within the framework of the project.


The project calls for a change in the attitude to technology as a category of human instrument of subordination or gaining benefit, and to look at it as a way to maintain the balance of a complex system in which people, nature and technology are involved.

screenshot.png.4.png

Source dataset

Documentation of installation

gif1.gif
gif2.gif

Patch in TouchDesigner

gif3.gif
2019.jpg
2017.jpg
2018.jpg
2020.jpg

Alaska's landscape change

LFBW
2021 / MEDIA ART

Данные, зашифрованные в миграционных паттернах белух, говорят о зависимости биологических видов от множества внешних факторов, в том числе природных катаклизмов, действий людей и технологий. Обучение технологических агентов может помочь сохранить эти данные и представить их в виде эстетического опыта. Рекуррентная нейронная сеть LSTM, обученная на данных о передвижении белух в прибрежных водах Аляски с 1979 по 2010 год, генерирует координаты альтернативных путей миграции белух, которые становятся основой для движения. Данные о глубине и температуре воды в текущей точке отражаются в звуковой части работы через параметрическую сонификацию синтезируемого звука и аудиозаписей коммуникации белух с помощью другой нейронной сети — многослойного перцептрона.

НАУЧНЫЙ РУКОВОДИТЕЛЬ:

Сергей Костырко

КОНСУЛЬТАНТ:

Мария Купцова

Аудио-визуальная инсталляция является дипломным проектом в рамках магистерской диссертации по программе
Цифровое искусство —Da. (Digital Art) в ДВФУ, 2021.

Проект стремится донести мысли о хрупкости и уязвимости природы, а также о человеческой ответственности за происходящие в мире изменения. Интерпретация биологических данных через эстетические образы коммуницирует это внутрь человеческой системы рефлексии, через интуитивно понятный художественный язык, преобразуя неосязаемые паттерны биологических агентов в визуальные и аудиальные способы проживания этой информации.

Технологические агенты, обучаясь у биологических, перестают казаться просто безжизненными объектами и наделяются характеристиками биологических агентов и органичностью. Технологии, которые исторически противопоставлялись живой природе, в рамках проекта выступают наравне с ней.
Проект призывает изменить отношение к технологиям как к категории человеческого инструмента подчинения или извлечения выгоды, и посмотреть на них как на способ сохранения баланса сложной системы, в которую оказались вовлечены люди, живая природа и технологии.

screenshot.png.4.png

Исходный датасет

Документация инсталляции

gif1.gif
gif2.gif

Патч в Touch Designer

gif3.gif
2019.jpg
2017.jpg
2018.jpg
2020.jpg

Изменение ландшафта Аляски